August 13th, 2012.

I can get him to sleep in about five-ten minutes, nowadays. We go in, we brush his teeth, read some books, sing a couple of songs, and I tuck him in. And most of the time that’t it; I lie down on the mattras next to him, relax a while, and not long in he’s sound asleep. And that’s my doing; for ages and a day I’ve practiced with him, from the very first time of him kicking and screaming and feeling insecure about everything and me and about the dark, I picked him up every time he cried and comforted him and started the routine again all over when I felt it was the right thing to do. And step by step we got to this, where he’s comfortable in his own bed, in his own dark. Where taking him to visit the folks is no problem at all, as long as he’s got something which smells like he’s used to it. I wanted to take this short space to thank myself on that good deed, in the know that it’s all my doing, all of it – try as she might to assume credit, and try she undoubtedly will, I know inside myself that it’s down to me. And I’m damn proud of it.

Just saying, ‘s all.

Leave a Reply

