May 13th, 2014.

Once more listening to Kind of Blue by Miles Davis. Have found it to be a great background-filler for working. Should try and discover some more of that.

Work is a bit of a stiff breeze at the moment. Albeit just some 7 months’ in I’m a bit dis-illusioned with it. They’re good people, but they’re not professional enough, and they don’t reflect my own ambitions. Thus my offers to hold internal courses on programming techniques are met with a shrug, and my attempts to coax a colleague to update ‘his’ project to the same programming environment all the rest of us use are met with disapproval. And my attempts to introduce continuous integration techniques, and introduce testing techniques, are futile. So, yea, disappointed with that. But I guess there’s only so much you can do when you’re up against non-team players. I could try and revolt, but the boss wouldn’t be there to back me up, she’s too non-technical for that alas. Am not bothered with to the point of quitting, but if I keep on learning at the tremendous rate of now, I will be in a year, maybe less than that.

Am getting to be in great shape, working out in the Parliament gym. Often times it’s all for myself, even, this grand gymnasium with all kinds of machinery. Great employee-treat. Working on the six-pack – much motivated by my colleague, Per, whose kind of shape I want to be in when I’m 60, damn.

N still stutters, though I sense it’s becoming less. But still I worry about it, about him starting school with it. He’ll be laughed at – it’s a ruthless scene. I know he’s not handicapped, or mentally ill, or what else. So I should heed that, but still I can’t help but worry about it.

Tonight’s my Tuesday night off – every week I’m looking forward to it. Dennis agreed to meet, have some action-movie here on my laptop, Pizza’s on its way… Life’s good.

Leave a Reply

