June 10th, 2014.

Did the taxes. Could make not head nor tails out of the form. Did my best. Now it’ll all go to a super-computer, somewhere, crunching my numbers along with a tri-zillion others. And the verdict? Served immediately, at a plus of some fifty-seven thousand. I’ll say that again; fifty-seven thousand. I know for a fact that it’s bound to be dead-wrong, and so I’ll immediately deposit the money into a secure account and keep them there. For at least five years before they’ll ever see the light of day. And, yes, I know I should’ve done more about it, but allow me to offer a million excuses: it’s a complicated red-tape system, you’d have to be an accountant to be able to do it on your own, and I just wanted to get to the bottom of it, and anyways it matched my consumer’s tax filings, and so on and so forth. At the end of the day I’m thinking, ‘if I don’t spend the money it’ll be there when they call for it’. And leave it at that.

Leave a Reply

