July 17th, 2015.

First week of my three-week stint holiday is almost over, but it feels much like I’ve rested for those combined three. Though still caring for Nicolas (basically slugging it out on the trampoline, he’s not pulling any punches) I’ve ample time to invest in myself, and since the house-remodelling is paused because of V’s safety-concerns I’m doing just that. Have bought and put together a PC, thought in mind to introduce N to some of those learning games that I believe K benefited greatly from – ‘Pixeline’ and the likes; however, I won’t argue that it may as well have been to re-introduce yours truly to the art of PC gaming. These new CPU’s are so graphically capable that they’ll play all my old games at top resolutions and graphics standard, and now that I’ve had a sample I confess to having missed it out. Played through ‘Bioshock’, that 2007 submersive distopian nightmare shooter, and enjoyed the hell out of it. Many of these games offer intriguing story-lines and likeable characters, something I don’t always find in the movies I turn to for quick fixes. So, yea, was happy to be re-acquainted. Sort of same feeling as those many years ago, when Bo Klinke came to my Østerbro apartment and introduced me to Half-Life. On another note, this gaming-rig will later next year allow me to run the Virtual Reality stuff that comes out, that I’m already sold on. Looking forward to that.

Took both my kids to the movies, to see the new ‘Minions’ movie. Local theater, popcorn, soda, great atmosphere, fine movie. I hope we’ll always find time for these kind of outings, even when they’re older. Despite the six years between them, we do a surprising number of things together, as a whole family.

Have begun to design the shipping container house I long to design and build and inhabit. It’s still early days on the Sketch-up page, so I can move modules around and design at my heart’s contend. Good to do this prototyping-thing, not least to square things off with V before diving in! I’m dreaming of being mostly self-contained, getting water from the clouds, power and heat from the sun. Food from the garden. I really, truly believe I could pull this off. After all, I wrote, produced and directed an entire movie, no? So why the heck not. I recall mum and dad building the house in Roum, their struggles and toiling. A vast project. I see this dream of mine as a natural continuation of what I saw as a boy, of what they were trying to do. If only they had had more time, and money. Well, I’m at a more advantageous position than they, now, and the tools and the means and the determination is not lacking. In a world that’s becoming increasingly more and more controlled, I have the desire to detach myself and my family from the bonds of the rulemakers. One thing that isn’t thus far heavily governed, indeed remains by law one of the corner-stones of our society, is the laws governing the individual’s right to a home, to construct it and live in it in the way that she or he sees fit. Self-reliance is something we, as a society, have begun
to forget, but they are basic building blocks of self-confidence and inspiration that we should all know. I want to teach my kids that big projects are feasible, I want them to learn how to go about executing them in a structured manner. And I want to become independent, and retire when I’m 60, not 80. All good reasons, I hope.

Am reading ‘How to create a mind’, by Ray Kurtzweil. Great book on the brain and how to emulate it in an artificial intelligence settings. I won’t claim to understand a fifth of it, but I appreciate the ideas and concepts he presents. By all his accounts, and he’s a man of many years of recognized research, the basic building blocks of the brain are just that, basic, and he sees few obstacles en route to creating an artificial brain. And, thankfully, he’s quite positive about the use of it, when we achieve that goal. It’s great to read these books on how the mind functions, the David Eagleman book was great in that respect, too, in as much as it adds a sence of structure and reason to what otherwise can seem like an nreasonable and messy life. For example I can appreciate forgetting distant memories now that I know that they’re being replaced with better quality or more recent ones, as he describes. Won’t go into a detailed review because the darn cat is pestering me to be let out, and thus it’s hard to maintain focus on this entry, but suffice to say it’s likely not the last Ray Kurtzweil book I’ve come across.

Next week, another holiday week. Have, as mentioned, really enjoyed this one, so hoping for more of the same. K is back from her Summer Camp in Ringsted, and I’m hoping to learn that our three grand made for a great adventure in her life. She wrote and phoned home with home-sickness first in the week, but then it – presumably – all turned out great in the end. By chance she’ll have grown an inch from the experience, certainly hope it so. So what if we can’t afford the grand all-inclusive holiday abroad, kids are doing great and V and I both have our book-trips to go to. Nicolas, in Kindergarten this week, have been on several trips to the Soroe Museum, and fishing at the Kongskilde Friluftsgård, and V have been taking him on day-trips to the Næstved Zoo and the Lejre Oplevelsescenter, I’m positive the kids aren’t missing out.

So, all good times. Look forward to the week after next, when we’ll visit mum and dad and present the new car. That I’ve just managed to scratch – hope the paint-stick will arrive from the auto-dealership before-hand.

Leave a Reply

