September 12th, 2015.

So I’m driving up to visit the folks for the weekend – just me, myself and I.

And so once more driving by his old workplace, now defunct. I’m in awe, every time. That’s a full working life, spent right there. All those adventures that went with it. Colleagues, now scattered and doing God knows what. A township, thriving on account of the export but now left to decay. I’ll never get him to admit to anything other than pragmatic emotions about it all. But I know he fought for it, even spent time in hospital because of it. And that it shaped him, more than much else, into what he is today. I used to be near oblivious to it, because he never brought it home. I wonder if I’m the same – probably am.

Look forward to spending the weekend here.

Leave a Reply

