November 3rd, 2015.

I got thinking back to the Hobro library, that I frequented a heck of a lot as a young man, in business school. At 16 years of age I think it was the best place imaginable for an impressionable mind that had an hour to spend before his bus left for home. For some reason the hours seem to be longer then, or maybe it’s just how I’d like to think of it; I got so much done I probably wouldn’t believe it today. At any rate, the library: wonderful smell of books. I don’t think I read that many of them, to be honest: I got into comics and Dungeons And Dragons, and of course they offered the computer magazines for free. Quite an immesurable wealth of information. I loved to roam those shelves, never more so when it got to winter and the city was clad in Christmas decorations. They really put on a show back then. So you’d be rain- or snow-soaked coming in, stamp your feet on the grills and move inside the warm, even cozy rooms, and the staff was awesome, too. So then you’d dry up in the main reading hall, flicking through a Frank Miller Batman comic, or study screenshots from the latest D&D magazine. And have to scurry for the bus because there was an unexpected line at the check-out counter. Yea, that was a live human back then, the librarian.

I didn’t have much in the way of parantal attention, to the best of my memories. I guess they struggled with each their own, which is fine – now. So I was free to roam around like I wanted to. And without much in the way of friends, that great place was really the best I could do. I wonder if I hadn’t discovered it, what would have become of me then. 16 is the most impressionable age of them all, and I must admit that if some leadership figure, one extreme even, had entered my life at that time I would’ve followed. I wanted to belong, but didn’t, and it would be a few years until I felt as if I did. I can appreciate the same dangers for young adults today, particularly those of some intellect and a religious tendency.

I’ll be forever thankful towards that library, not for expanding my mind – that came much later – but for simply being there, at a time when I needed it the utmost.

Leave a Reply

