February 2nd, 2016.

Another kid leaves K’s class. Number 8? 9? I’ve lost track. One of her best friends, too. It’s a damn shame, all of it. That she had to wind up in the lousiest class of them all, with so many undisciplined assholes as you wouldn’t believe. It is what it is, and I can only hope that she’ll be better equipped than most to deal with assholes when she gets older. And how that lesson won’t be the most she gets from school. Though by the looks of the present state of things I’m wondering how much she’ll really get out of it. And there’s little we can do about it. Sure, complain, write to the board. Did it, more than once. But the reality of it is that it’s out of our hands; and that, mind one, is not a good feeling.

All is not lost, of course. She’s a bright girl, and for better or worse we can school her in different ways, when she’s left the system. Would do it now, but N is taking up that time. I hope it’ll be better when he’s in the public school system, but frankly I’m concerned.

I don’t know of anyone who’s had a terrific time in school, to be honest. Alarming in itself. Then I get to think of the case of me. I had to school myself, didn’t I. Took a long time. But with a happy ending. So all’s not lost, ‘s all I’m saying.

Leave a Reply

