May 18th, 2016.

Went for a first interview with the University of Copenhagen; alas completely fumbled a technical question, so undoubtedly didn’t come across as the competent fellow I’d hoped. One of those moments you’d wish you could rewind just a half a minute and offer the brilliant answer they were gleaming for! So, a bit of a humbling experience; I’ve come a bit of a way off the path I’d set out to tread, that of know-it-all-guru. What happened? Lots of distractions, is what, I’ve simply haven’t had the use for what I’ve learned and forgot some of it, sadly that which would’ve had me ace that interview. Doubt they’ll call me back for more, but will take it as is – I do still have a nice regular gig, haven’t I. But it’s also a wake-up call of sorts, and I really should try and get out some more, i.e. arrange some lectures (for lack of a better word) around those course-notes I developed when I needed to learn this stuff that I’ve then since neglected. So that’s what I’ll do. When I finish the new bathroom, of course. And the remodelling of the kitchen. Oh, and a gazillion other things I need to do first. How does one balance work and life? Probably by not remodelling anything besides one’s music collection.

Reading ‘Thinking, Fast and Slow’ by Daniel Kahneman. Good one.

Leave a Reply

