October 15th, 2016.

“I am what I am because of you”, says the father of one of the protagonists of this new tv-series ‘Westworld’ I’m watching. And, come to think of it, this as much defines me, myself and I, as does every personal endeavor towards my self-fullfilment I ever undertook. Such as running all those miles, or that stint in the airforce, or even the hours spent on maintenance of this old shack of a house. Yet it all pales in comparison to the ever-present narrative of family, i.e. of putting oneself at the forefront of this enterprise called a ‘home’ and trying to make it work. At times failing, at times succeeding, always defining myself in the context of my kids and my wife. I can see now, after these training years, why so much of one’s personality shatters when families, for various reasons, are separated. Such a powerful force; and certainly one, as well as the duties implied with it, I take very seriously indeed.

 

Leave a Reply

