February 9th, 2017.

So – the snow is here. Really thought we’d make do without it. K was out yesterday, N will likely be out today. Ah well – it’s use of the sleds we have, I reckon. After the hot December, my nervousness about global warming subsides, if only for a bit.

He’s past his illness, N, so V will take him to school today. Good riddence, bacteria and virus – whichever he had. Was glad to see the meninghitis-fear vanish. V’s really been at it, so thought I’d appreciate her and got her a perfume from stopping past Matas on my way home. That’s really what I’ve learned throughout the years, stick to perfume, flowers, chokolate not so much. Feel compelled to mention, though, that I spent the last two nights on the couch so that I might intervene if (when) he woke up, thus securing her a sound night’s sleep. And, further, that I’ve played Minecraft into drearyness the minute I got back from work.

Have been lucky in selling a few used items of late; some smart LED-bulps, the roof-rack for the car that we never use. Plan to sell as much as I can, shedding this dead weight. The laser in the basement, oh how I’d like to rid myself – and said basement – of that. I think I’ve done good these many years past, in getting rid of stuff I no longer need. Recuperating cost, sure, but also getting it into hands of use. We throw away too many things in this World.

Talked the HPV vaccine over with V, again. Arrived at the same conclusion, that K won’t be getting it. Too many reports of malicious side-effects, and tales of a corrupt govermnent health agency and doctors not agreeing on the positives at all. All adds up to odds that I’m willing to take – on my daughter’s behalf. How easy is that… 350 cases each year, of the effects of this sexually transmitted disease. It’s like V said it best, if she ever got it we’d be devestated over our poor decision. But those tales of life-crippling side-effects, for a vaccine that only lasts some certain time, that there are others means of protecting oneself from (prevention), that some doctors wouldn’t give their own daughters… They all seem to agree on the benefits of all other types of vaccine, safe from this – I guess that’s where I got my primary clue. So it won’t happen, and I’ll keep my fingers crossed. But, then again, haven’t I kept my fingers crossed for all this while that we’ve reared kids? I’d think so.

Up early, half past two, to accomodate the kid to the toilet and back. He was soon back into sleep, myself not so much. So got on the early train. Will take a toll, but I’ll reward myself with a breakfast á la 7-11 and tomorrow Friday I can sleep in: have taken the day off so V’s dentist might remove my innermost molar. So I won’t be getting the root-canal. What I will be getting is a gaping hole and a blunt reminder to brush my damn teeth properly – and see the dentist regularly! I guess that’s some pennies saved down the road.

She longs to get back into her writing, V, which I can surely understand – she’s been around sick kids for a long as she can remember (week and a half) and the Winter-holiday is upcoming, too. Past my understanding there’s a bit of envy, too: I’m really getting into this AI thing, studying and forming theries – but my efforts amount to half an hour on the train each day. That’s not really getting anywhere. I must be great to realize oneself in this way. It must be, what, ten years or so that she’s been writing? I hope that I might one day arrive at the same scenario, of being able to dedicate huge chunks of my time for whatever fancies me. Albeit it what fancies me is apparently subject to change… I guess one should always be careful for what one wishes – but the prospect does seem pleasing.

Listening, on repeat, to “A Ticket Home”, from the “By Dawn’s Early Light” album by Thomas Larsen. It fits this winter-weather beautifully, I could – and methinks I will – listen to it all day long.

Leave a Reply

