June 15th, 2017.

Well, that was, then, that. Another course done, and this time in a more forgiving setting, even. Don’t know if I’ll ever get the chance to do another one, but if I do I can say that I now know the setting well. Hope they got something to take away from it; I know I certainly did. It’s such an exhilerating feel, such a high, when you’ve dismissed the class and it’s a full day of talking, teaching, listening, reacting. I was going on pure adrenaline, since I hadn’t slept the entire(!) night before and thus had been awake for some 40 hours – can’t tell why I didn’t sleep at all. So, yea, a genuine rush all the way through it. I’m sure I’ll be able to do it better, and then better stil after that, given the chance; have enough pointers to act on. By chance I’m reading that Alan Alda biography, in which he speaks of his insecurities starting out in acting, or even with individual characters that he portrays, about just throwing himself out there – which he has done a lot of, by his own account. I can certainly now relate to that. I’ll keep bettering it, introduce new elements and such, to accomodate some of the requests I had. Let me just get this out and over with; I’m very proud of myself in this regard. I didn’t have to do it, I did it because I wanted to stretch myself. So I contacted the Technological Institute and thus made full use of my surroundings, I carried myself at the meeting, gained their trust, I developed and matured the course material, I rehearsed it, I presented it out of town, I listened to feedback and tweaked the form to accomodate, presented it again. And stretched myself further than I’d thought I would. Life is such an exam, if that’s in your genes. I would seem that’s the case with mine. So I get these chances to prove myself. And, ultimately, pride myself. I’m learning a lot, too. Again referring to Alan Alda, and his theory of “when you truly listen to others, you’re really allowing them to change you”. There’s a lot of truth to that, I believe.

A good day. Needless to say, I slept like a log.

Leave a Reply

